Connect with us


Lawmakers pass law to abolish four Kano emirates



The Kano State House of Assembly has repealed the State Emirate Council Law 2019 that allowed former Governor Abdullahi Ganduje to split Kano emirate to four.

The Assembly took the decision at the floor of the House during plenary on Thursday.

During the sitting, the Kano State emirate council amendment bill was considered after scaling second and third reading on Thursday.

The bill titled, ‘The Kano State Emirates Councils (Repeal) Bill, 2024’ was sponsored by a member representing Dala, Lawan Hussaini.

The repeal, subject to Governor Abba Yusuf’s assent, scrapped the four emirates created in 2019 and restored Kano as the only state with a single emirate council, aside from Sokoto which also has only the Sultan as the paramount ruler.

The scrapped emirates are Bichi, Rano, Gaya, and Karaye, which each have first class emirs.

Deputy Speaker Alhaji Muhammad Bello Butu explained that repealing the law would revive the lost glory of Kano as the division of Kano emirate to five reduced the capacity and dignity of the State at national level.

Majority Leader Alhaji Lawan Hussaini Dala said the emirate council had served as a custodian of culture before, but according to him, it was distorted by the creation of additional emirates.

The law is set to abrogate the creation of five emirates done by the former administration of Abdullahi Ganduje in 2019 and the restoration of Sanusi Lamido Sanusi as the Emir of Kano Emirate.

The law was first amended in 2019 during the rift between then-Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje and Sanusi, a former Central Bank Governor.


Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *