Connect with us


Governor Uzodimma secures convincing victory, clinches second term in Imo State



Governor Uzodimma secures convincing victory, clinches second term in Imo State

In a resounding victory, Governor Hope Uzodimma, the incumbent and All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate in the Imo State governorship election, has successfully secured a second term in office. The electoral triumph saw Uzodimma emerge victorious in all 27 Local Government Areas of the state during the election held on Saturday, November 11, 2023.


The announcement of the winner took place on Sunday morning after the final collation of results. Prof. Abayomi Fasina, the state Returning Officer for the election and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oye, Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State, declared the incumbent’s victory, noting that Uzodimma polled an impressive 504,308 votes.


In contrast, Senator Samuel Anyanwu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the closest contender, garnered 71,503 votes, while Athan Achonu of the Labour Party secured 64,081 votes, placing a distant second and third, respectively. Anthony Ejiogu of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) occupied the fourth position with 6,392 votes, and Jack Ogunewe of the Action Alliance (AA) secured the fifth spot with 5,756 votes.


Prof. Abayomi Fasina, while announcing the result, stated, “I, Prof. Abayomi Fasina, I was the Returning officer for the Imo state governorship election held on November 11, 2023. That the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Good Hope Uzodimma, having scored the highest number of votes and satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner of the election and returned elected.”


With this decisive outcome, Governor Uzodimma is set to be sworn in for a second term of office on January 14, 2024.

Continue Reading
1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Tinubu unveils Imo’s transformed artery: ‘Bola Tinubu drive’ echoes leadership legacy - Network8tv News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *